Our Constitution


1. Name
The Branch shall be called the β€˜1066 EM branch’ of the European Movement (EM), covering
the current Parliamentary constituencies of Bexhill and Battle and Hastings and Rye. It shall
operate in accordance with the European Movement of the United Kingdom (EM/UK), and
comply with the EM/UK's constitutional provisions.

2. Objectives
The objectives of the Branch shall be:
a) to promote awareness both of the benefits of the UK's membership of the
European Union and of wider European issues.
b) to contribute to the debate on the political, social, economic, environmental and
cultural policies of the European Union.

3. Membership
Full membership is open to those who are fully paid up members of the EM and in the
following categories; Individual Membership, Youth Membership and Unwaged and Low
Income membership and subject to the terms and conditions of the EM.
There shall be provision for Corporate Membership at the discretion of the Committee, in
consultation with EM/UK.

4. Officers
There shall be Officers: a Chairperson, a Secretary and a Treasurer. Nominations for the
Officers' posts and Committee membership for the following year shall be received in writing
by the Secretary at least 7 days before the AGM.

5. Committee
A Committee shall carry out Branch business between AGMs. It shall consist of the Officers
and up to 9 other members elected at the AGM. If required, vacancies for Officers may be
filled by substitution agreed by the Committee from amongst its members. The Committee
shall have the power of co-option. The quorum for the Committee shall be 4, including at
least 2 Officers; if required the Chairperson shall have a casting vote.

6. Accounting
The management of the Branch's funds shall comply with standard current financial practice.

7. AGM
An Annual General Meeting (AGM) shall be held at a time to be decided by the Committee.
i) All current paid-up members of the Branch shall be notified of the arrangements
for an AGM at least 14 days in advance.
ii) All such members present at the AGM shall be entitled to vote.
iii)The quorum for voting at all General Meetings shall be 10 members, including at
least 2 of the Officers.
iv) If necessary the Chairperson shall have a casting vote

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.